Mirna Jukic

Swimming

Mirna Jukic is Austria's most successful swimmer. Jukic started her career with three victories at the European Youth Championships in Malta in 2001. Later in the same year she got her first two world championship medals: Silver over the 100 and 200 m breaststroke on the short course of Antwerpen. The first Gold medals followed in 2002, in Berlin (long course) and Riesa (short course), both over 200 m breaststroke. Jukic went on to grab Gold in her best discipline in 2003 (short course, Dublin) and 2004 (long course, Madrid). In Vienna, Mirna swam to Silver over the 200 m breaststroke (short course). At the world championships 2005, she added a bronze medal over the 200 m breaststroke.

Acute infectious adenitis forced Mirna to miss a whole year. Her comeback, however, was spectacular, as Mirna swam to Gold, Silver and Bronze at the European short course championships in Antwerpen 2008. She only narrowly missed the podiums shortly afterwards at the World Championships in Manchester. Mirna found her way back onto the podium in December of 2008, when she grabbed Silver and Bronze at the European Short Course Championships in Rijeka.

Mirna also achieved her lifelong goal – winning an Olympic Medal, as she reached the third place in Beijing 2008. More records and one more bronze medal followed – this one at the World Championships in Rome, where she missed Gold only by 4/100.

Mirna Jukic

Schwimmen

Mirna Jukic ist die erfolgreichste Schwimmerin Österreichs. Nach drei Siegen bei der Jugend-EM in Malta 2001 folgten im Dezember des selben Jahres die beiden ersten WM-Medaillen: Silber über 100 und 200m Brust auf der Kurzbahn in Antwerpen. Die ersten Goldmedaillen errang sie bei den Europameisterschaften 2002 in Berlin (Langbahn) und Riesa (Kurzbahn) jeweils über 200m Brust. Auch 2003 (Kurzbahn, Dublin) und 2004 (Langbahn, Madrid) folgte jeweils EM-Gold über ihre Paradedisziplin. Bei der Kurzbahn-EM 2004 in Wien holte Mirna Silber über 200m Brust. Bei der Weltmeisterschaft 2005 holte sie Bronze über 200m Brust.

Nach einer einjährigen Pause wegen einer sehr langwierigen Krankheit (Pfeiffersches Drüsenfieber) gelang ihr ein sensationelles Comeback: Bei der EM 2008 in Eindhoven konnte Mirna jeweils Gold, Silber und Bronze über die Brustdisziplinen erreichen. Bei der WM in Manchester darauf, verpasste sie nur um wenige Hundertstel den Sprung auf das jeweilige Podest. Bei der EM in Rijeka im Dezember 2008 konnte sie dann wieder Silber und Bronze gewinnen.

Bei den Olympischen Spielen in Peking erreichte Mirna ihr großes Ziel mit dem Gewinn der Bronzemedaille. Es folgten weitere Rekorde und eine Bronzemedaille über 200 m Brust bei der WM in Rom, nur knapp 4/10 hinter der Weltmeisterin.